PATRIOT NEWS NOTE: This “abagond” guy is racist and nuts, but this Katrina story with West and Myers is important for everyone to see:

“George Bush doesn’t care about black people.”

On September 2nd 2005 one of the most amazing and wonderful bits of live television I have ever seen came during a Red Cross benefit to raise money to help those hit by Hurricane Katrina. It came when Kanye West said this:

I hate the way they portray us in the media. You see a black family, it says, “They’re looting.” You see a white family, it says, “They’re looking for food.” And, you know, it’s been five days because most of the people are black. …  just to imagine if I was down there, and those are my people down there. … We already realize a lot of people that could help are at war right now, fighting another way – and they’ve given them permission to go down and shoot us!

And then this about the president:

George Bush doesn’t care about black people.

After he said that they cut him off.

To me he was just saying what everyone was already thinking. Only, as I later found out, it was not what everyone was thinking. While most black people thought race had something to do with the delay, only 12% of white people did!

A week later Bush’s wife said:

I think all of those remarks were disgusting.

No: what was disgusting is that it took the National Guard five days to arrive. As if the black people of New Orleans lived in some other country. That was disgusting. When four big hurricanes hit Florida a year before – Charley, Frances, Jeanne and Ivan – the National Guard and supplies where in position before the first one even hit land. Before!

Five years later in an interview with Matt Lauer, Bush said:

He called me a racist. And I didn’t appreciate it then. I don’t appreciate it now. It’s one thing to say, “I don’t appreciate the way he’s handled his business.” It’s another thing to say, “This man’s a racist.” I resent it, it’s not true and it’s one of the most disgusting moments of my presidency.

He said it was his worst moment in office. That is hard to believe and yet while he could talk calmly about 9/11, he could not talk calmly about this, not even five years later.

Bush was not angry at himself for being slow to act while Americans were dying, he was angry at being called a racist!!

Abagond

On September 2nd 2005 one of the most amazing and wonderful bits of live television I have ever seen came during a Red Cross benefit to raise money to help those hit by Hurricane Katrina. It came when Kanye West said this:

I hate the way they portray us in the media. You see a black family, it says, “They’re looting.” You see a white family, it says, “They’re looking for food.” And, you know, it’s been five days because most of the people are black. …  just to imagine if I was down there, and those are my people down there. … We already realize a lot of people that could help are at war right now, fighting another way – and they’ve given them permission to go down and shoot us!

And then this about the president:

George Bush doesn’t care about black people.

After he said that…

View original post 392 more words